Bad Wedding Photos

Wise words

Having a beautiful wedding is a dream for many. It is one day where everyone is focused on the people getting married. Since the event does not last very long, gorgeous pictures are expected so that the memories can live on. Unfortunately, this did not happen for us and it still hurts a little bit.

I originally did not want a wedding ceremony

I am a shy and introverted person who does not like a lot of attention. The idea of me having a wedding and people staring at me was terrifying. My mom kept nudging me into having a ceremony though and eventually I agreed to have one.

Together we came up with the wedding details (my now husband did not really care what things looked like) which led me to become even more comfortable with the idea. Once I found the dress I wanted, I was actually excited for our big day!

My mom was the one that chose the photographers for our wedding. She said she felt that they were going to do a good job and I trusted her. On the day of the wedding, I marveled at my reflection in the mirror with my beautiful dress on and makeup done. I actually felt that I looked gorgeous and could not wait to have my wonderful pictures hanging up in our house afterwards.

Then came the pictures

A few weeks after the wedding, I got a text from my mom that the pictures had come in. I could not wait to see them! I hopped in my car right away and went to my parents house. When I got there I noticed that although my mom was in a good mood, she did not seem as happy as I thought she would be over having received the pictures.

She had me come into the office because the the wedding photos were on the computer. I sat down and she said, ” Well…I am not very happy with the photographers.” That admission worried me.

My mom proceeded to click through the pictures and my heart sunk after every one of them. They were horrible! I do not like bragging but the truth is that I am a photogenic person. The photos that were taken of me made me look bad which has never happened before.

Needless to say, I was heartbroken by what I saw. My mom had me pick out the pictures that I wanted framed and I ended up just picking random ones. They were all the same level of bad so it did not matter. I did not say anything to my mom about my dislike of the pictures because she was the one who paid for them and I was grateful that she did that.

I had to try really hard not to cry on my way home. They are just pictures right? It should not be that big of a deal.

We put them on the walls anyways

My parents framed the pictures I chose and brought them over so that they could be hung on the walls. I did not want them up but again, I did not want to make my mom feel bad.

My husband thinks they are the worst wedding pictures he has ever seen and that I do not even look like myself in them. I agree with him. They are utterly horrible and the photographers should be ashamed of themselves. Plus, they were rude to me on my big day.

I hate complaining about something so trivial but I can not help it. The pictures are that awful! I have seen a lot of beautiful wedding photos where the couples look better in the picture than they do in real life (sounds mean but it is true) and I was hoping for that.

I need to stop thinking about it

I can not let this wedding picture thing make me feel bad forever. There are worse things that can happen in life. Even if the photos are bad, at least they can spark better looking memories in my mind.

I have a wonderful family and life must go on.

Leave a comment